Hillary Clinton’s new ad running in North Carolina. Her NC State Director calls it “”a unique experiment in democracy.” The full script is below. I just wanted to point out one thing. When someone says, “This isn’t about me,” you know how much it really is. Here’s the script: Hi, if you are looking for a typical political commercial, switch the channel. This isn’t a typical election, and these are not typical times. The economy is reeling and as I talk with people across North Carolina, I hear about the crushing cost of healthcare from Winston-Salem to Fayetteville. I hear stories about families going into debt to send their children to college. Military families from Fort Bragg tell me their deep concerns about how we’re treating our veterans. Teachers and parents tell me that No Child Left Behind just isn’t working. And everywhere, North Carolinians tell me the middle class is just getting slammed.I want to hear from you. Because this election isn’t about me, it is about you. So let’s have a conversation. Just go to NCAskMe.com, and then I’ll be getting back to you here on TV to answer your questions and offer some solutions. Thanks. It’s nice talking with you. I’m Hillary Clinton and I approve this message. Remember Hillary’s campaign announcement over a year ago? The “let the conversation begin” commercial? It was an intelligent concept, riding the wave of user-generated media and online platforms. But I was highly suspect that it would turn out to be a, I don’t know, horribly ingratiating marketing ploy. Well, turns out it was: Watch some of the other “conversations” you are sure to have missed here and here and here.

April 3, 2008

Leave a Reply

