So after work today I happened to be in Union Square where there was an event happening for the ASPCA. There was a rock band playing classic rock songs. During the break, the lead singer introduced to the stage the guy who played “the original cowbell” on Blue Oyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear The Reaper.” This man was immortalized in the famous “More Cowbell” sketch on SNL, and now he’s something of a hot item? They played a rockin version of that song with the cowbell dude front and center. He’s old. The band kept telling him: I think we need more cowbell! It was canned and kind of corny, but also hilarious and smile-inducing, and certainly blogworthy. Earlier in the day, a friend of mine and I were having a discussion on autism and its root causes. I had heard a claim from a presidential “candidate” that it was caused by “something in the environment” like it was a fact. I haven’t studied the disease, so I don’t know enough to know if that’s true or not. But we got into a discussion about all of the things in the environment that are known to cause birth defects. We started to laugh about mutations and a possible future scenario where we have a superhuman mutant race living among us. Then he said, “I, for one, welcome our new mutant overlords,” a line made famous by The Simpsons. I thought to myself a Deep Thought that I have a frequent and rather intense wish to live entirely within a hermetically sealed Simpsons Universe. When I saw “the original cowbell” player on stage, I thought that I wouldn’t mind living in the universe of the “More Cowbell” SNL sketch also. (Or maybe I just want to hang out with Will Ferrell and Christopher Walken.) Today that dream came true, kind of. …This has been a Deep Thought by Alex Sherman.

April 10, 2008

]

Leave a Reply

