Fleetwood Mac – “I Know I’m Not Wrong” Check out my Last.fm page. I have “scrobbled” more songs by Fleetwood Mac than all other artists in my entire Last.fm history. I’m proud of this. It’s not just that I’m getting over my visceral teenage antipathy to puffy shirts and marching bands. It’s that Tusk, their follow up to Rumours, is blowing my mind. 20 songs recorded after the band ripped itself to pieces. Allmusic.com calls it “the perfect cocaine album” which is historically accurate, I guess, but just seems wrong to me. About 50% raucous jams that carry this odd-pop tension that reminds me of some of Animal Collective’s poppier moments, 50% torch songs by Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie that dance on the ear. Which means absolutely nothing until you listen. (Image above courtesy of Johanna’s Art inspired by Stevie Nicks)

August 24, 2008

Fleetwood Mac – “I Know I’m Not Wrong”

Check out my Last.fm page. I have “scrobbled” more songs by Fleetwood Mac than all other artists in my entire Last.fm history. I’m proud of this. It’s not just that I’m getting over my visceral teenage antipathy to puffy shirts and marching bands. It’s that Tusk, their follow up to Rumours, is blowing my mind. 20 songs recorded after the band ripped itself to pieces. Allmusic.com calls it “the perfect cocaine album” which is historically accurate, I guess, but just seems wrong to me. About 50% raucous jams that carry this odd-pop tension that reminds me of some of Animal Collective’s poppier moments, 50% torch songs by Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie that dance on the ear. Which means absolutely nothing until you listen.

(Image above courtesy of Johanna’s Art inspired by Stevie Nicks)

Leave a Reply

